Offline to-do lists that sync, compared.

Of the five to-do apps compared here, Todoist and Microsoft To Do are the two whose help pages say they work offline, and both cost nothing to start: Todoist’s free plan allows 5 personal projects, and To Do is free with a personal Microsoft account. Google Tasks, TickTick and Apple Reminders sync across devices too, but their help pages don’t explain offline use.

In short

Updated

Todoist’s help center says changes made with no connection sync when you’re back online, unless you log out or clear the app’s data first. Microsoft says To Do has an offline mode, and that logging out loses unsynced changes. Google Tasks, TickTick and Apple Reminders sync across devices, but their help pages don’t explain offline use. Free limits differ: Todoist allows 5 personal projects, TickTick 9 lists of 99 tasks, and Microsoft and Google state none. For a free list with reminders on any phone, Microsoft To Do is the safe pick; on Apple devices, Reminders is already there.

Says it works offline
Todoist and Microsoft To Do
Offline not explained
Google Tasks, TickTick, Apple Reminders
Todoist Free
5 personal projects. Pro is $7 a month
Microsoft To Do
Free, with no limits stated
TickTick Free
9 lists of 99 tasks
Apple Reminders
Built into iPhone and iPad

Written by Rootless Agency, which builds implements. Prices in US dollars.

Comparison

Five to-do apps and To-do List, side by side.

Where the free ones do more, the table says so: they all have reminders. To-do List, the last column, is ours, and it isn’t free.

ComparedTodoist FreeMicrosoft To DoGoogle TasksTickTick FreeApple RemindersTo-do List
Price$0. Pro is $7 a month or $60 a year$0 with a personal Microsoft accountComes with a Google account$0. Premium is under $4.17 a month, billed yearlyBuilt into iPhone and iPad$4.99 a month, with every implements tool
Offline, per its helpEdits sync when you reconnectHas an offline modeNot explainedNot statedNot statedSaves on the device first
Free limits5 personal projectsNone statedNone stated9 lists of 99 tasksNone statedNo free plan. One list, 500 tasks
Works onPhones, computers, watchesWindows, Mac, iPhone, Android, webWeb, Gmail, Calendar, phone appsPhone, computer, tablet, watchApple devices; iCloud.com on a PCAny browser; installs on phones and computers
RemindersFor tasks with a date and timeYesNotifications2 task remindersBy time or placeNo
ComparedTodoist FreeMicrosoft To DoTo-do List
Monthly$0$0$4.99
OfflineSyncs laterHas a modeDevice first
Free limits5 projectsNone statedNo free plan
RemindersYesYesNo

Todoist details from todoist.com and its help center, Microsoft To Do’s from Microsoft Support, Google Tasks’ from Google Tasks Help and workspace.google.com, TickTick’s from ticktick.com and its help center, Apple Reminders’ from Apple Support, checked October 23, 2026. Names are trademarks of their owners; implements isn’t affiliated with them. Google Tasks, TickTick and Apple Reminders sync too; their help pages don’t explain offline use. TickTick Free allows 9 lists of 99 tasks.

Which to-do apps work without internet?

Todoist and Microsoft To Do say so on their help pages. The others don’t explain offline use, so test one first: add a task in airplane mode, reconnect, and check your other device.

What’s the best free to-do app that syncs?

For most people, Microsoft To Do: free with a personal Microsoft account, no limits stated, with reminders and shared lists on Windows, Mac, iPhone and Android. On all-Apple devices, Reminders is already there.

Offline

What each app says about working offline

Todoist is the clearest. Its help center says you can add, delete and change tasks with no connection, and they sync on their own once you’re back online. Log in before you go offline, and don’t close the app, log out or clear its data until they’ve synced, or the changes are deleted. The article names no plan.

A Microsoft notice about updating the To Do apps says you’ll “still be able to use To Do in offline mode”, and that “any unsynced data will be lost” if you log out.

Google’s Tasks help doesn’t cover offline use; its privacy page says only that tasks you choose to use offline are stored on your device. TickTick promises “real-time sync” and Apple says reminders “stay up to date on all your devices”, but neither says what happens without a signal. That doesn’t mean they stop working, only that it’s worth a test before a trip.

Free plans

What the free plans include, and where they stop

  • Todoist Free allows 5 personal projects, 3 filter views, 5 MB a file and 7 days of activity history. Tasks with a date and time get a reminder; custom, location-based and recurring ones are Pro, at $7 a month or $60 a year. Up to 5 people can share a project.
  • Microsoft To Do is free with a personal Microsoft account, with no limits stated. Tasks take steps, due dates and reminders, and a list can be shared by an invitation link.
  • Google Tasks works with a Google account, in its phone apps, at tasks.google.com and beside Gmail and Calendar. Tasks take subtasks, due dates and notifications, and can be assigned to people in Google Chat.
  • TickTick Free allows 9 lists of 99 tasks, 19 checklist items a task, 1 attachment a day and 2 task reminders, and you can share a list with one other person. Premium costs under $4.17 a month, billed yearly.
  • Apple Reminders is built into iPhone and iPad and syncs through iCloud with a Mac on the same Apple Account. Reminders take subtasks, due dates and alerts by time or place, and lists can be shared with other iCloud users. A Windows PC gets iCloud.com in a browser; Apple’s pages don’t cover Android.

One more option

Where To-do List fits

To-do List is ours, and it isn’t free: it comes with implements, $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year for every tool, with no ads. Every change saves on your device first and syncs after, so it never waits for a signal. Once opened on a device, it works there offline; the first visit needs a connection.

It syncs whenever it’s open and online, including moments after a change and when the connection comes back. An iPhone can’t sync with the app closed, so open it once you’re back online. If two devices changed the same task offline, the most recent change to each part of it wins, so a rename on one and a tick on the other both stay, and new tasks from both are kept, once each.

It’s one list of up to 500 tasks, each with up to 30 subtasks, with no due dates, reminders, projects or sharing, on purpose; if you need those, Microsoft To Do has them for free. If your subscription ends, your list stays open to read, but you can’t change it until you renew.

Questions

Questions people ask.

Short answers, in plain words. Something missing? Ask Support and we’ll add it here.

What are Todoist’s free plan limits?
5 personal projects, 3 filter views, 5 MB a file and 7 days of activity history. Custom, location-based and recurring reminders need Pro, at $7 a month or $60 a year.
Does Todoist work offline on the free plan?
Its offline article names no plan: you can add, edit and delete tasks offline, and they sync when you’re back online. Log in first, and don’t log out before they sync.
Does Microsoft To Do work offline?
Microsoft mentions an offline mode in a notice about updating the To Do apps, and warns that logging out loses unsynced data. Its help pages don’t describe it further.
What happens to my tasks if I stop paying?
On Todoist, projects over the free limit go view-only until you upgrade again or archive or delete some. TickTick keeps your data, and you carry on as a free user. To-do List stays open to read until you renew.

Sources

Where these facts come from

Each page was checked on October 23, 2026. Names are trademarks of their owners; implements isn’t affiliated with them.

Start today

Tick it off anywhere. Keep every other tool.

$4.99 a month for To-do List and every other tool. Cancel any time.